The Beginning
A coal locomotive engine at the shops in 1941. | State Archives of Florida
In the late 19th century, the Florida Central and Peninsular Railroad (FC&P) established its West Jacksonville rail yard and maintenance shops on the city’s western edge. In 1903, the Seaboard Air Line Railway (SAL) acquired FC&P and expanded the site, making it one of Jacksonville’s largest employers by 1909, with over 1,000 workers.
Located just south of West Beaver Street, between McDuff Avenue and Edgewood Avenue, the rail yard and maintenance shops played a key role in the early growth of surrounding neighborhoods such as Lackawanna, Murray Hill, and Woodstock.
To connect the shops with Downtown Jacksonville, a streetcar line was built along Lackawanna (now Edison Avenue). At its peak, the streetcar line offered 89 round trips daily with 15-minute intervals, serving as a vital part of the city’s mass transit system until streetcars were replaced by buses in 1936.
The Seaboard complex once included steam and diesel locomotive shops and a 165-foot turntable. On April 6, 1917, workers raised the largest American flag in Jacksonville at the yard, hoisted atop a 120-foot flagpole—the tallest in the city at the time.
The End
In 1967, SAL merged with its longtime rival, the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, forming the Seaboard Coast Line Railroad (SCL). That entity later merged with the Chessie System in 1980. Rail operations at the West Jacksonville shops ended in 1985, just before the company rebranded as CSX Transportation. Today, while the original shops have been demolished, the site remains active. The West Jacksonville Yard is used to store rock trains for Conrad Yelvington’s nearby terminal, and CSX continues to operate dispatch, crew services, and a TRANSFLO terminal on portions of the historic property.
Historic Photographs
A diesel locomotive engine at the shops in January 1952. | State Archives of Florida
Left: Engine number 302 on May 5, 1941. Right: A locomotive in the roundhouse in January 1952. | State Archives of Florida
The train engine and car roundhouse in January 1952. | State Archives of Florida
A look inside the locomotive maintenance and repair shop on September 24, 1954. | State Archives of Florida
Locomotives in the shop on June 12, 1942. | State Archives of Florida
A look inside the train engine and car roundhouse. | State Archives of Florida
The West Jacksonville shops in 1979. | State Archives of Florida
A 1943 aerial of the complex. | University of Florida
A 1960 aerial of the complex. | University of Florida
A 1990 aerial of the West Jacksonville railyard and closed railroad shops complex. | University of Florida
Ruins of the former railroad shops at the West Jacksonville Yard.
The CSX Dispatch facility at the West Jacksonville Yard was once called “The Enterprise” because the inside looked like a space ship with all the monitors and consoles surrounding the circumference of the building’s walls.
CSX Transflo operations at the West Jacksonville Yard today.
Looking west at the West Jacksonville Yard from McDuff Avenue.
Editorial by Ennis Davis, AICP. Contact Ennis at edavis@moderncities.com